Taking Time to Reflect

The parallel between who you are and who you want to become is daunting. Everyone likes to believe that these two go hand in hand and that there’s no way you aren’t who you want to be. But I’ve found that in most cases, we aren’t. When life gets busy our priorities change and we get lazy. We focus on taking care of ourselves physically but not mentally. It’s important to take time to reflect on yourself without allowing other people to pollute your thoughts and opinions. We go through life picking up little habits from everyone we meet and soon lose who we genuinely are. We all need our come-to-Jesus moment, and man did I have mine.

Last Thursday the Creative Communications students had Tessa Whitecloud from 1JustCity come in and talk to us about their mission and about some people they have helped. This seminar opened my eyes in ways I didn’t think were possible (especially on an early Thursday morning). I had been going through some things earlier that week and was feeling sorry for myself, but that quickly changed after hearing some of the stories Tessa shared. I soon realized how petty my problems were. There are people who are so thankful to receive one meal per day and I was at home crying over people who weren’t worth my time let alone my tears. I realized that in the last few months I had become selfish in the way I lived my life and that my morals had become very superficial. At that moment I knew I needed a change, not only for myself but also for everyone around me.

Now I’m not saying that I’ve signed up for a 6-month mission’s trip to build houses in Africa, but I plan to take baby steps in becoming the person that I hope to be. I encourage everyone to take a moment to revaluate themselves and their values. Be honest with yourself on where you’re at and remember the only person standing in the way of who you are and who you want to become is you.

 

dsc07078

One thought on “Taking Time to Reflect

Leave a Reply

