More Than Just a Game

I was sitting on the gym floor taking off my ankle braces and shoes after a late volleyball game. The school season was coming to a close which meant talk about who was trying out for what club team had begun. My school coach went up to my mom and informed her that Shock was having a team for the 14U age group that year. I was immediately ecstatic because this team was known for doing well and I wanted to prove to myself that I could make it. But for weeks leading up to the tryout, I went back and forth trying to decide if this was a good decision or not. In the end, I found myself showing up for the tryout (very late may I add). Shit I thought, there goes any chance I had of making it. The tryout lasted for an hour or two and consisted of us doing basic drills. At the end of the tryout, the coach gathered the gym full of girls and told us that if we received a call later that night that we had made it onto the team. I went home feeling pretty good. Don’t get me wrong, in no way did I think my skills were up to par with a lot of the girls in that gym, but I just had a good feeling. Once I got home, I headed straight into the shower only to be interrupted a few minutes later. My mom was frantically knocking at the bathroom door informing me that the coach had called and that I needed to call him back right away. And sure enough when I did, I learned that I had made the team.

Looking back at it now, if I had not gone to the tryout I wouldn’t have learned all the things that I did. Those were the best and worst three years of my life. It pushed me in ways that I loved and also hated. I was also introduced to 12 amazing girls and we soon enough became a big family. I am thankful for all the people I met and opportunities I had. I truly believe I wouldn’t be the same person today if I hadn’t gone to the tryout and hadn’t been a part of that team.

 

img_0042

Leave a Reply

